Hôtel de la Marine, Paris
The Hôtel de la Marine has just reopened its doors to the public after a period of major refurbishment. It is on the right-hand side of the long façade fronting the Place de la Concorde, dating from 1757 and designed by Gabriel, the King’s architect. It was the Royal Garde Meuble (furniture custodian) and then the Ministry of the Navy. The new museum aims to showcase the excellence of 18th century French decorative art.
To be informed of upcoming articles, register here (it’s free).